Tsingtao to open new brewery in Jieyang

  • Reading time:2 min(s) read

Tsingtao Brewery Company Limited, China’s largest and the world’s sixth-largest brewer, is building another new plant in China, this time in Jieyang city, Guangdong province, Chinese newspapers reported on Monday. The company and and Guangdong Jieyang City signed an investment agreement on June, 24.

The plant’s annual capacity is expected to amount to 600 million liters. The company plans to start building the new plant at the end of July 2011 and to start production in July 2012. Tsingtao will invest 800 million yuan in the new brewery that will produce bottled and canned Tsingtao Beer and Shanshui Beer. The new plant will employ the latest in brewing technology and is said to be the most energy efficient beer factory in China,, it is reported. The brewery will have an attached consumer experience center.

According to Huang Kexing, the company’s vice president, Tsingtao’s beer sales have been growing in the high-end market in in Guangdong province in the past few years and the new plant is build to meet the growing consumer demand in this market. Tsingtao Brewery will not only bring jobs, revenue, cash flow, business flow, logistics and other physical capital to the region but the investment might also attract other companies to invest in Jieyang, Huang Kexing further said at the signing ceremony.

The opening of the brewery in Jieyang is another step to the company’s declared goal to expand its annual beer production and sales volume from 6.35 billion liters to 10 billion liters over the next three years. Rizhao, Xiamen, Fuzhou, Yangzhou, Suqian, Langfang, Zhuhai, Wuwei, Shijiazhuang, Tsingtao has a lot of projects to achieve the capacity. Currently, Tsingtao Brewery has more than 50 breweries in 19 provinces and cities.

Tsingtao Brewery is one of the oldest beer producers in China, founded in 1903 by German and British merchants. Through a century’s development, the brand has entered more than 70 countries and regions including the United States, Japan, Germany, France, the United Kingdom, Italy, Canada, Brazil and Mexico.